Salaam...question about ethyl alcohol

· 23 Dhuʻl-Hijjah 1424 AH1 min readFatwa 10750English
Food and Drink

Question

Certain glazed donuts have ethyl alcohol in the sugars, the same alcohol found in fruits and vegetables. Once these donuts are cooked the ethyl alcohol content is .02%. Are these donuts halal? Also, please provide a dua for happiness. JazakhAllah Khair.

Answer

In principle, if any alcohol is not from grape or date extract, it is permissible, if it does not intoxicate. Hence the donuts containing ethyl Alcohol will be halaal.

And Allah Knows Best

Mufti Ebrahim Desai

Answered by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Ask AskImam

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam). It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.