Are Veggie burgers made entirely from soy protein and vegetable sources halal. This is the product:http://www.yvesveggie.com/products_details.php?product_id=41

· 4 Safar 1425 AH1 min readFatwa 11259English
Food and Drink

Question

Assalamu-Alaikum, Are Veggie burgers made entirely from soy protein and vegetable sources halal. Companies manufacturing these say this is simulated beef but it does not contain any meat or its derivatives. Specifically I am talking of this product: http://www.yvesveggie.com/products_details.php?product_id=41 JazakAllah.

Answer

If the burgers are manufactured entirely from veggies, it will be Halaal. However, if there are other ingredients / spices mixed into the patty, it will be essential to look into those ingredients as well.

You may request the manufacturers to forward to you a list of the ingredients. You may also seek the advice of eat-halal.com

and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best

Mufti Ebrahim Desai

Answered by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Ask AskImam

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam). It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.