I want to ask the folic acid given to pregnant ladies, is that halal. in Addition to this any food product having folic acid in its nutrition is that halal. I have read in one halalguide that folic acid in vitamin supplements or other vitamin fortified food may not use the vegetable source all the time.

· 16 Safar 1429 AH1 min readFatwa 16303English
Food and Drink

Question

I want to ask the folic acid given to pregnant ladies, is that halal. in Addition to this any food product having folic acid in its nutrition is that halal. I have read in one halalguide that folic acid in vitamin supplements or other vitamin fortified food may not use the vegetable source all the time.

Answer

In the name of Allah, Most Gracious, Most Merciful

Assalaamu `alaykum waRahmatullahi Wabarakatuh

Folic acid could be derived from animal as well as fungal, vegetable and plant sources. Therefore, you would have to determine the exact source of it in order to realise the permissibility of the folic acid.

And Allah knows best

Wassalam

Ml. Ismail Moosa,
Student Darul Iftaa

Checked and Approved by:

Mufti Ebrahim Desai

Answered by
Ml. Ismail Moosa
Checked & approved by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Ask AskImam

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam). It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.