Is Khaskas ( Poppy Seeds ) HARAM or HALAL?

· 26 Shawwal 1429 AH1 min readFatwa 17239English
Food and Drink

Question

IS Khaskas ( Poppy Seeds ) HARAM or HALAL?

Answer

In the name of Allah, Most Gracious, Most Merciful

Assalaamu `alaykum waRahmatullahi Wabarakatoh

Poppy seed are come from Papaver somniferum. Although poppy seeds are gathered from the same plant from which opium is produced and people who eat them may test positive for opium in drug tests, poppy seeds have virtually no narcotic content. The fluid contained in the bud that becomes opium is present only before the seeds are fully formed, and poppy seed are obtained only after they are fully formed.

Poppy seeds have no narcotic properties, because the fluid contained in the bud that becomes opium is present only before the seeds are fully formed.

(Encyclopedia Britannica)

Therefore, it will be permissible to consume poppy seeds.

And Allah knows best

Wassalam

Ml. Abu Yahya,
Student Darul Iftaa

Checked and Approved by:

Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Darul Iftaa

Answered by
Ml. Abu Yahya
Checked & approved by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Ask AskImam

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam). It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.