Is Beef gelatine halal?

· 28 Shaʻban 1434 AH1 min readFatwa 26013English
Food and Drink

Question

Is BEEF gelatine halal?

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

As a general rule, if the animal is slaughtered according to the Shariah Laws of Zabah, the gelatine will be Halal. If the animal is not slaughtered according to the Shariah Laws of Zabah, the gelatin will not be Halal.

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Ismail Desai

Checked and approved by,

Mufti Ebrahim Desai

Answered by
Ismail Desai
Checked & approved by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Ask AskImam

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam). It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.