Yeast Fermentation in Dairy Products

· 25 Jumada II 1436 AH1 min readFatwa 32646English
Food and Drink

Question

A dairy product in which alcohol is produced via yeast fermentatIon. is this form of alcohol acceptable in the hanafi school of thought?

Answer

In the Name of Allāh, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

Fermentation is a metabolic process that converts sugar to acids, gases, and/or alcohol.[1] Yeast fermentation is the process in which yeast breaks down sugar into alcohol and carbon dioxide. Yeast are tiny single-celled fungi that contain special enzymes responsible for this reaction.[2] The type of alcohol found in products can be defined depending on the grain or sugar source the yeast feeds on.

As such, it is understood that a blanket ruling cannot be given unless the grain or sugar source is identified in products which contain alcohol.

And Allah Ta‘āla Knows Best

Fahad Abdul Wahab

Student Darul Iftaa

New York, USA

Checked and Approved by,

Mufti Ebrahim Desai

www.Daruliftaa.net

References (Arabic / Urdu sources)

[1] http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fermentation

[2] http://www.alcoholandyou.org.uk/facts/howisitmade.html

http://study.com/academy/lesson/yeast-fermentation-using-fermentation-to-make-alcohol.html

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fermentation_in_winemaking

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yeast_in_winemaking

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yeast

https://www.wineturtle.com/wine-yeast/

Answered by
Fahad Abdul Wahab
Checked & approved by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Ask AskImam

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam). It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.