Halal certified vitamins or vegetarian vitamins?

· 23 Dhuʻl-Qiʻdah 1436 AH1 min readFatwa 33989English
Food and Drink

Question

I have set up a company that produces halal certified vitamins. The reason I started this company is because not all vitamins are halalusually they contain alcohol or gelatin. The respons I am getting from the market is the following: "there is no need to buy halal certified vitamins, as vegeratian vitamins are suitable for muslims as well".

My question to you is: What should a muslim choose: Halal certified vitamins or vegetarian vitamins?

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

The choice between Halal[1] certified vitamins and vegetarian vitamins is a personal preference. It is not subject to a Fatwa.

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Abdullah ibn Mohammed Aijaz

Student Darul Iftaa
Baltimore, USA

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai

References (Arabic / Urdu sources)

[1]حُرِّمَتۡ عَلَيۡكُمُ ٱلۡمَيۡتَةُ وَٱلدَّمُ وَلَحۡمُ ٱلۡخِنزِيرِ وَمَآ أُهِلَّ لِغَيۡرِ ٱللَّهِ بِهِۦ وَٱلۡمُنۡخَنِقَةُ وَٱلۡمَوۡقُوذَةُ وَٱلۡمُتَرَدِّيَةُ وَٱلنَّطِيحَةُ وَمَآ أَكَلَ ٱلسَّبُعُ إِلَّا مَا ذَكَّيۡتُمۡ وَمَا ذُبِحَ عَلَى ٱلنُّصُبِ وَأَن تَسۡتَقۡسِمُواْ بِٱلۡأَزۡلَـٰمِ‌ۚ ذَٲلِكُمۡ فِسۡقٌ‌ۗ (Surah Ma’idah: Ayah:3)

يَـٰٓأَيُّہَا ٱلَّذِينَ ءَامَنُوٓاْ إِنَّمَا ٱلۡخَمۡرُ وَٱلۡمَيۡسِرُ وَٱلۡأَنصَابُ وَٱلۡأَزۡلَـٰمُ رِجۡسٌ۬ مِّنۡ عَمَلِ ٱلشَّيۡطَـٰنِ فَٱجۡتَنِبُوهُ لَعَلَّكُمۡ تُفۡلِحُونَ (Surah Ma’idah: Ayah:90)

يَـٰٓأَيُّہَا ٱلرُّسُلُ كُلُواْ مِنَ ٱلطَّيِّبَـٰتِ وَٱعۡمَلُواْ صَـٰلِحًا‌ۖ إِنِّى بِمَا تَعۡمَلُونَ عَلِيمٌ۬ (Surah Mu’minoon: Ayah:51)

Answered by
Abdullah ibn Mohammed Aijaz
Checked & approved by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Ask AskImam

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam). It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.