Grapeseed Extract

· 21 Jumada I 1439 AH1 min readFatwa 39617English
Jurisprudence and Rulings (Fiqh)

Question

I recently bought viridian high five multivitamin and mineral formula. The brand is vegetarian and the ingredient list can be found here:http://www.viridian-nutrition.com/Shop/High-Five-Multivitamin-and-Mineral-Formula-P557.aspx#

After buying the container, I was doing some research on it and came across a link that listed it as vegan and kosher but not halal (I don't know how authorative that information is, but I'm pasting the link here: https://www.vitaminstore.nl/health/voedingssupplement/multi/algemeen/High-Five-Multivitamine-Mineralen-Formule-Viridian-hersenen/P86856?Variant=92026) , which was confusing to me. I went through the ingredient list and the only doubtful ingredient I could find was grapeseed extract. I want to know is grapeseed extract halal to consume? I googled this and found conflicting answers.

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

Grape seed extract (GSE) is an industrial derivative of whole grape seeds. Accordingly, it is permissible to consume the Vitamin in reference.

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Huzaifah Deedat

Student Darul Iftaa
Lusaka, Zambia

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

Answered by
Huzaifah Deedat
Checked & approved by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Ask AskImam

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam). It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.