Are the following types of alcohol halal?

· 20 Dhuʻl-Qiʻdah 1439 AH1 min readFatwa 40863English
Food and Drink

Question

Please can you tell me if the following ingredients are halal:

-Cetyl Alcohol

-Benzyl Alcohol

-Cetearyl Alcohol

-Cetostearyl Alcohol

-Cetylstearyl Alcohol

These are often found in moisturisers and skin care products so would appreciate some clarification please.

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

In principle, alcohol derived from dates, grapes, wheat and raisins are not permissible. Alcohol derived from any other sources is permissible for external usage.

Benzyl alcohol is produced naturally by many plants or may even be synthetically manufactured. Therefore benzyl alcohol found in creams and cosmetics is permissible.[1]

Cetyl alcohol in this day and age is derived from palm oil and may also be synthetically produced, hence permissible for external usage. [2]

Cetearyl, cetostearyl and cetylstearyl alcohol are synonyms.[3] These alcohols are a combination of fatty alcohols, often cetyl and stearyl alcohol make up the major components. Fatty alcohols are commonly derived from vegetable oils. These are also permissible for external usage.

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Aboobakr Siddeeq bin Mufti Amjad Mohammad

Student Darul Iftaa

Azaadville, JHB, South Africa

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

Answered by
Aboobakr Siddeeq bin Mufti Amjad Mohammad
Checked & approved by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Ask AskImam

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam). It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.