If L-Cysteine is derived from chicken feathers is it halal to eat?

· 17 Safar 1423 AH1 min readFatwa 5471English
Food and Drink

Question

L-Cystine is an amino acid added to breads and other baked products. Most of l-cysteine produced in the US is made from human hair. One donut manufacturer said its l-cysteine is made from chicken feathers. Would bread containing l-cysteine made from chicken feathers be halal to eat?

Answer

If L-Cystine is made from chicken feathers then it will be halaal and if made from human hair then it will not be halaal.

and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best

Mufti Ebrahim Desai

Answered by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Ask AskImam

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam). It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.