Food Contamination

· 14 Dhuʻl-Qiʻdah 1444 AH1 min readEnglish
Food And Drink

Question

At work, we buy a tuna, and cheese (suitable for venetian) panini. We learned today, that the staff members in the canteen use the same machine on all paninis, that also may include haram meat, and use the same knife to split it into two pieces.

Would this in effect render our panini haram?

Answer

If there are any traces of the Haraam meat left on the machine or knife and the Halaal paninis do get directly in touch with the traces of the Haraam meat then to eat these will not be permissible.

Since it is possible or likely that some of the other paninis Haraam meat remains on the machine or knife and it is also possible that the other paninis contain also other Haraam ingredients other then the Haraam meat, such as Haraam animal fats… one should abstain from eating those Halaal

paninis, unless it can be made sure that none of the Haraam particles are left on the machine or knife at the time of their usage for the Halaal paninis.

Approved by
Mufti Muhammed Saeed Motara Saheb D.B.
Ask Azaadville

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Ifta, Darul Uloom Azaadville. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.