Animal Rennet And Whey

· 17 Safar 1447 AH1 min readEnglish
Food And Drink

Question

I would like to know if the animal rennet used to produce products like cheese or whey protein is from an animal that is not slaughtered in a halal manner will this make the cheese and whey protein Haraam?

Answer

An animal that is slaughtered in accordance to Shariah is permissible for consumption, otherwise not. Rennet is produced in the stomach of the animal, hence it will not be suitable for consumption if the animal was not slaughtered in accordance to Shariah. In conclusion, cheese or whey protein containing rennet that was procured from an animal that was not slaughtered in a Halaal manner will not be permissible to consume.

References (Arabic / Urdu sources)

ولا تاكلوا مما لم يذكر اسم الله عليه وانه لفسق

(سورة انعام)

Approved by
Mufti Muhammed Saeed Motara Saheb D.B.
Ask Azaadville

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Ifta, Darul Uloom Azaadville. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.