Consuming Nabeez

· 29 Rabiʻ II 1443 AH1 min readEnglish
Food And Drink

Question

Up until which point is one permitted to consume Nabeez, and from which point will it be considered as Haraam?

Answer

As long as the drink doesn’t intoxicate a person, it will be permissible to consume. If the drink is left for such a lengthy duration due to which it develops foam and is able to intoxicate a person, then it wouldn’t be permissible to drink.

References (Arabic / Urdu sources)

کھجور یا تاڑ کے درخت میں سے نکلنے والا عرق اگر پاک برتن میں لیا جائے اور صبح کو آفتاب نکلنے سے پہلے اتار لیا جائے تو اس میں نشہ نہیں ہوتا اس کا پینا جائز اور حلال ہے ہاں جب رکھنے سے اس میں جھاگ پیدا ہونے لگیں اور نشہ پیدا ہوجائے تو پھر پینا حرام ہے – جامع الفتاوی ص۱۴۳ ج۹۴

Answered by
Mufti Mohammed Desai
Ask Ibn Masood

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Ifta Ibn Masood. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.