Quinine in beverages

· 27 Jumada I 1444 AH1 min readEnglish
Food And Drink

Question

I would like to know if the ingredient ‘quinine’ is Halaal? Some say that it is derived from a tree called ‘Cinchona Tree’, which is said to be alcoholic. This ingredient is used in Soda Water and Tonics.

I don’t find any research indicating that it is Haraam.

Answer

We haven’t come across any information which states that ‘quinine’ is alcoholic. It is described as a bitter crystalline compound present in the cinchona bark, which is used as a treatment for malaria. In the 19th century, quinine was recommended to British officials and soldiers to prevent malaria, where it was mixed with soda and sugar to mask its bitter taste, creating tonic water. This means that it was used more as a medication than as a beverage.

Notwithstanding the above, quinine is toxic and can cause serious side-effects known as ‘cinchonism’ which can include hearing and vision loss, breathing issues, and heart and kidney issues. It can also lead to a coma. Due to it being harmful to the human body, it will not be permissible to utilize.

References (Arabic / Urdu sources)

ويكره أكل الطين لأن ذلك يضره فيصير قاتلا نفسه (فتاوي قاضي خان علي هامش الفتاوي الهندية ص403 ج3)

Answered by
Mufti Mohammed Desai
Ask Ibn Masood

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Ifta Ibn Masood. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.