Consuming products with vanilla colouring

· 9 Shaʻban 1438 AH1 min readEnglish
Food and DrinkDoubtful Foods & Drinksice creambiscuitsvanilla

Question

Can we eat biscuits and ice cream in which all the ingredients are halal but as a artificial flavouring- vanilla is used? I'm in a confusion because some scholars say vanilla is Haram due to presence of 37% of alcohol in it....and some says that we can't feel the presence of alcohol & in which we does not feel the alcoholic thing we can eat it...what should I do?

Answer

The hadeeth teaches us to abstain from areas of doubt.

And Allah Ta'ala (الله تعالى) knows best.

Answered by
Mufti Ebrahim Salejee (Isipingo Beach)
Ask Mufti Online

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Mufti Online — Madrasah Ta'leemuddeen. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.