Carmine in food and sweets

· 20 Jumada II 1439 AH1 min readEnglish
Food and DrinkDoubtful Foods & Drinkscarmine

Question

I want to know if carmin (insect e120) is haram in food and candy and why we cannot eat them if it is not allowed?

Answer

Avoid it.

And Allah Ta'ala (الله تعالى) knows best.

Answered by
Mufti Ebrahim Salejee (Isipingo Beach)
Ask Mufti Online

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Mufti Online — Madrasah Ta'leemuddeen. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.