Using plant base extracts extracted using a certain percentage of alcohol
Question
I want to know if plant base extracts for medicinal purposes that has been extracted using a certain percentage of alcohol... Is it halaal or haraam? These medicines are commonly known as spagyric medicines.
Answer
If it is for external use then it is permissible, and if it is for internal use then first search for a suitable non-alcoholic substitute. In the event that a suitable alternative cannot be found then it will be permissible.
And Allah Ta'ala (الله تعالى) knows best.
- Answered by
- Mufti Ebrahim Salejee (Isipingo Beach)
Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Mufti Online — Madrasah Ta'leemuddeen. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.