Eating bread that was treated with ethyl alcohol
Question
I live in Italy and all the sandwich bread I checked in the supermarket is “treated with ethyl alcohol”. Is this bread haraam or halaal?
Answer
Look for something that is free from alcohol. If you cannot prepare your own bread then as a last resort you may consume this bread since the commercially used alcohol is normally synthetic and not derived from grapes or dates. As such, if they do not have any intoxicating effects it will be permissible.
And Allah Ta'ala (الله تعالى) knows best.
- Answered by
- Mufti Ebrahim Salejee (Isipingo Beach)
Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Mufti Online — Madrasah Ta'leemuddeen. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.