Eating spleen

· 7 Safar 1435 AH1 min readEnglish
Qurbaani & Halaal SlaughterThings which are permissible & impermissible to consume from the animal

Question

It is haram for us to consume carrion (blood). Is it halaal for us to eat Spleen of an animal (since spleen also contains red blood cells) or is the prohibition only for running blood?

Answer

The eating of spleen is permissible.

And Allah Ta'ala (الله تعالى) knows best.

Answered by
Mufti Ebrahim Salejee (Isipingo Beach)
Ask Mufti Online

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Mufti Online — Madrasah Ta'leemuddeen. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.