Food and medicine capsules that contain gelatin from animal sources

· 17 Dhuʻl-Qiʻdah 1433 AH1 min readEnglish
MiscellaneousMedical treatmentMedication

Question

Are food and medicine capsules, that contain gelatin from animal sources, Halaal due to the changes that they go through.

Answer

According to our understanding, the gelatin does not go through such a process allowing it to become halaal.

References (Arabic / Urdu sources)

( و ) لا ( ملح كان حمارا ) أو خنزيرا ولا قذر وقع في بئر فصارحمأة لانقلاب العين به يفتى

و في رد المحتار: قوله ( لانقلاب العين ) علة للكل وهذا قول محمد وذكر معه في الذخيرة والمحيط أبا حنيفة حلية قال في الفتح وكثير من المشايخ اختاروه وهو المختار لأن الشرع رتب وصف النجاسة على تلك الحقيقة وتنتفي الحقيقة بانتفاء بعض أجزاء مفهومها فكيف بالكل فإن الملح غير العظم واللحم فإذا صار ملحا ترتب حكم الملح ونظيره في الشرع النطفة نجسة وتصير علقة وهي نجسة وتصير مضغة فتطهر والعصير طاهر فيصير خمرا فينجس ويصير خلا فيطهر فعرفنا أن استحالة العين تستتبع زوال الوصف المرتب عليها (رد المحتار 1/327)

Answered by
Mufti Ebrahim Salejee (Isipingo Beach)
Ask Mufti Online

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Mufti Online — Madrasah Ta'leemuddeen. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.