Is vegetarian pork Halaal?

· 24 Muharram 1432 AH1 min readFatwa 19123English
Food and Drink

Question

Is vegetarian pork halāl? It is 100% animal free and made from soya.

Answer

In the Name of Allāh, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

The permissibility of a food product is based upon its content, not its name. Hence, even though the name of the product is repugnant due to its containing the word “pork,” vegetarian pork is still permissible if it is completely free from any non-dhabīhah animal derived product.

And Allāh knows best.

Muftī Abrar Mirza
Chicago, IL (USA)

Under the Supervision of Muftī Ebrahim Desai (South Africa)

_

Answered by
Muftī Abrar Mirza
Approved by
Muftī Ebrahim Desai
Ask AskImam

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam). It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.