consuming soft shell capsules made of Bovine Gelatin

· 14 Shaʻban 1433 AH1 min readFatwa 21201English
Food and Drink

Question

Please inform me if we can consume soft shell capsules made of Bovine Gelatin.

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

It is not permissible to consume Bovine Gelatin.

However, if there is a genuine medical need and there is no other medical alternative, then it is permissible for one to consume capsules made out of Bovine Gelatine for medical purposes only.

This will have to be prescribed by a medical doctor.

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Ismail Desai,
Student Darul Iftaa
Durban, South Africa

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

Answered by
Ismail Desai
Checked & approved by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Ask AskImam

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam). It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.