Bovine Gelatin

· 19 Shaʻban 1435 AH1 min readFatwa 29506English
Food and Drink

Question

can we consume sweets which have bovine gelatin imported from Malaysia? I know there is a doubt here in SA with regards to the bovine gelatin in products which I abstain from, but Malaysia is an Islamic country (believed to be so) so its most likely the gelatin in their products are Halaal?

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salamu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullahi wa-barakatuh.

In issues of Halaal and Haraam, we are guided by Shariah to exercise extreme precaution. Without positively or negatively commenting on the Halaal status of products from Malaysia, we cannot simply assume all products from all Muslim countries to be Halaal. Haraam meat circulating in Saudi Arabia is an undeniable fact.

Therefore, in principle, it is best to ensure first hand that the bovine gelatin in Malaysia is Halaal. Do not simply accept it as Halaal due to it being from a Muslim country. It is also not necessary that a Muslim country is in essence an Islamic country.

And Allah Ta’ala Knows Best

Ismaeel Bassa

Student Darul Iftaa

Durban South Africa

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

www.daruliftaa.net

Answered by
Ismaeel Bassa
Checked & approved by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Ask AskImam

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam). It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.