Are mayonnaise and butter halal.

· 11 Dhuʻl-Qiʻdah 1433 AH1 min readFatwa 22533English
Food and Drink

Question

I want to know weather its halal to consume mayonaise and butter?

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykumwa-rahmatullāhiwa-barakātuh.

In principal, mayonnaise and butter will be Halal (permissible) to consume as long as they do not contain any Haram (impermissible) ingredients or E-numbers.

An E-number that is used in some butters and mayonnaises’ is E441. This is gelatin and is also known as ‘gelfoam’ and ‘puragel’. The ruling for this E-number is that the gelatin from fish and correctly slaughtered (Halal) beef is considered Halal.Gelatin from pork is Haram.[1]

Refer to the following websites for further information. www.sanha.co.za and www.muslimconsumergroup.com.

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

References (Arabic / Urdu sources)

[1]http://www.sanha.co.za/a/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=448&Itemid=261

http://www.muslimconsumergroup.com/e-numbers_list.html?panna=4

Checked & approved by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Ask AskImam

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam). It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.