Is it permissible to use medication that contains ingredients that may be haraam?

· 27 Jumada I 1421 AH1 min readFatwa 231English
Food and Drink

Question

The question text was not published separately; the title stands in for it.

Is it permissible to use medication that contains ingredients that may be haraam?

Answer

If there is no adequate alternative for the product that contains Haraam ingredients, and the product is prescribed by a reliable physician, it will be permissible to use the product.

It is not permissible for a physician to prescribe medication having Haraam ingredients if there is an adequate alternative. In the case of a non-Muslim physician, the Muslim patient should inform the physician of the ruling of the Shari'ah and request him to take cognisance of that.

and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best

Mufti Ebrahim Desai

Answered by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Ask AskImam

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam). It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.