Is it Halal to eat egg shells?

· 1 Jumada II 1438 AH1 min readFatwa 37814English
Food and Drink

Question

Qs: Is it Halal to eat egg shells?

Answer: I recently saw a study which says that egg shells are healthy to eat. You first boil them, then bake and grind it into powder form and then use it in food.

So is it Halaal?

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

Egg shells are halal and permissible to consume.

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Huzaifah Deedat

Student Darul Iftaa
Lusaka, Zambia

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

References (Arabic / Urdu sources)

شرح مختصر الطحاوي للجصاص- دار البشائر الإسلامية (7/ 297)

قال: (ومن ماتت له دجاجة، فخرجت منها بيضة: فلا بأس بأكلها).

والأصل في ذلك: أنَّ كل ما يستباح من الحيوان في حال حياته بغير ذكاة، فحاله بعد الموت كهي قبله، وذلك لأنه لا يلحقه حكم الموت، لأنه لو كان يلحقه حكم الموت، لما حل له إلا بذكاة الأصل، كاللحم وسائر أعضاء الحيوان، لما لحقه حكم الموت بموت الحيوان، لم يحله إلا الذكاة. ويدل عليه: ما روي عن النبي صلى الله عليه وسلم أنه قال: "ما بان من البهيمة وهي حية: فهو ميتة". فلما كانت البيضة تبين منها في حال الحياة، وليست بميتة، علمنا أنها مما لا يلحقه حكم الموت.

Answered by
Huzaifah Deedat
Checked & approved by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Ask AskImam

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam). It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.