I have been told it is haraam to eat anything containing Whey Powder, what is the fatwaa ...

· 22 Rajab 1424 AH1 min readFatwa 9689English
Worldly Possessions

Question

I have been told it is haraam to eat anything containing Whey Powder, what is the fatwaa regarding this?

Answer

According to our understanding of whey powder, it is the liquid after milk forms into curd.

Accordingly, there is no reason for whey powder to be Haraam. If the powder has any other Haraam ingredients, then out ruling will be different.

and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best

Mufti Ebrahim Desai

PLEASE NOTE : An update this Question has been posted Dated: Thursday, August 23rd 2007 @ http://www.askimam.org/fatwa/fatwa.php?askid=dc6c4c42f4d41e2a8cefb422abf9dc04

Answered by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Ask AskImam

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam). It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.