Kombucha

· 28 Jumada I 1443 AH1 min readEnglish
Food And Drink

Question

Is kombucha halaal?

Will a product which goes through the process which kombucha goes through will be halaal?

Answer

Generally, all types of alcohols are Haraam and Najis (impure). Research shows that Kombucha, which is a fermented drink, contains alcohol and is capable of intoxicating. Therefore, Kombucha will be Haram and Najis (impure). Similarly, any other drink that undergoes this process, where it ferments and is capable of intoxicating, will have the same ruling.

References (Arabic / Urdu sources)

(شامى ٣٨/٤)

(شامى ٤ /٤٢)

(تبيين الحقائق ٦ /٤٧)

(الفتاوى الهندية ٥/ ٤١٢)

Approved by
Mufti Muhammed Saeed Motara Saheb D.B.
Ask Azaadville

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Ifta, Darul Uloom Azaadville. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.