Shellac

· 16 Dhuʻl-Qiʻdah 1442 AH1 min readEnglish
Food And Drink

Question

I wanted to know if the ingredient shellac is halal or not.

Answer

Our Darul Ifta’s view is that shellec is Haram.

References (Arabic / Urdu sources)

(الفتاوى الهندية 5/289 دار النوادر)

Approved by
Mufti Muhammed Saeed Motara Saheb D.B.
Ask Azaadville

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Ifta, Darul Uloom Azaadville. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.