Carmine

· 21 Dhuʻl-Qiʻdah 1446 AH1 min readEnglish
Food and DrinkHaraam Food & Drinks

Question

I’d like to enquire about the permissibility of the consumption of carmine. I have tried to research this matter on the muftionline site but mainly see the answer to avoid it. I’d like clarification on it being a halaal/haraam item thus its permissibility.

I personally don’t consume it, yet a lot of products contain carmine & sometimes those from Arab countries that bear halaal logos, not finding a direct answer about its permissibility makes it a bit more difficult to warn family members from it’s consumption.

Answer

It is not permissible to consume foods that contain carmine in their ingredients.

And Allah Ta'ala (الله تعالى) knows best.

Answered by
Mufti Zakaria Makada
Checked & approved by
Mufti Ebrahim Salejee (Isipingo Beach)
Ask Mufti Online

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Mufti Online — Madrasah Ta'leemuddeen. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.