Chewing gum
Question
Is chewing gum halaal or haraam? I have come to know that chewing gum is made up of pig fat. So I want to know from you that what is the Islamic ruling on this?
Answer
The principle of Shari'ah is that if the ingredients contained in any food product is from impure or impermissible substance, then consuming such a food product will be impermissible. We are not a Halaal certifying body and do not supervise products of any company or outlet, hence we are not in a position to issue a specific ruling regarding any product. You may refer to any halaal certifying body.
And Allah Ta'ala (الله تعالى) knows best.
- Answered by
- Mufti Zakaria Makada
- Checked & approved by
- Mufti Ebrahim Salejee (Isipingo Beach)
Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Mufti Online — Madrasah Ta'leemuddeen. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.