Food, Halal & Slaughter · Subtopic

Haram & Doubtful Foods

229 fatawa from 4 South African Darul Iftas on Haram & Doubtful Foods, part of Food, Halal & Slaughter. Newest first; every fatwa links to the page where its Darul Ifta published it.

Subtopics are grouped from each Darul Ifta’s own categories and the fatwa titles, so the count is approximate.

By Darul Ifta

Mufti Online182Ask Imaam43Azaadville3Camperdown1

Haram & Doubtful Foods fatawa — page 5 of 6

  1. Ask Imaam29 Oct 2014

    Eating Haraam food

    I ate pepperoni pizza several times unknowingly after coming to USA. Someone told me pepperoni is vegetable and i believed. So I ate pepperoni…

    Muhammad Haris Siddiqui
  2. Ask Imaam2 Jul 2014

    There is a company who is selling pork and also Halal meat. Is it permissible to eat their halal meat?

    Please give me a correct Fatwa with reference and documents. I don't have any Imam in my area to ask this question. I am living in Australia. There…

    Mufti Ebrahim Desai
  3. Mufti Online13 Jun 2014

    Consuming haraam

    If a person were to consume haraam food eg. a chocolate without any doubt or without knowledge that it contains haraam, would a person's imaan be…

    Mufti Zakaria Makada
  4. Ask Imaam25 May 2014

    Can one cook haram food for a non-Muslim mother?

    my nomuslim mother is unable to cook for her self is it premissible for me to cook her haram food.

    Muhammad Haris Siddiqui
  5. Ask Imaam29 Apr 2014

    Can one cook haram food for a non-Muslim mother?

    my nomuslim mother is unable to cook for her self is it premissible for me to cook her haram food.

    Muhammad Haris Siddiqui
  6. Mufti Online27 Apr 2014

    Hot cross buns, Easter eggs and Easter marshmallows

    Are hot cross buns, Easter eggs, egg marshmallows, etc halaal?

    Mufti Zakaria Makada
  7. Mufti Online14 Apr 2014Arabic

    Cordyceps sinensis

    هل يجوز للمسلم أن يشرب (أو يأكل) هذا الشيء لزيادة القوة و الصحة؟ في الدول الشافعية (ماليزيا، إندونيسيا) - المكملات الغذائية بهذا الشيء - عندهم…

    Mufti Zakaria Makada
  8. Mufti Online24 Mar 2014

    Giving doubtful food to another Muslim

    Can a pious muslim give off mashbooh foodstuffs to an another muslim who is not steadfast in deen and consumes all sort of foods whether it is…

    Mufti Zakaria Makada
  9. Mufti Online18 Mar 2014

    Attending the da'wat of someone whose major income is from haraam

    My question is that some of my relatives live in UK where they work in different sections such as the sale and making of Alcohol. They send their…

    Mufti Zakaria Makada
  10. Mufti Online15 Mar 2014

    Giving doubtful food to non-Muslims

    Can a muslim give off doubtful foodstuffs like chocolates, biscuits, etc to a non muslim because throwing off mashbooh foodstuffs is a little…

    Mufti Zakaria Makada
  11. Mufti Online22 Feb 2014

    Sucking blood

    I wanted to inquire about the drinking of flowing blood being haraam! If a person checks his sugar, pokes bimself for the blood to be released and…

    Mufti Ebrahim Salejee
  12. Mufti Online19 Feb 2014

    E-codes

    Many companies are said to be mixing haram items in their products and many codes like E codes are said to be haram. What should be done with these…

    Mufti Ebrahim Salejee
  13. Ask Imaam11 Feb 2014

    Doubtful foods

    In regards to mushbooh food items, if we have bought them, what should be done? Should we throw them away or use them once or give them to someone…

    Muhammad Haris Siddiqui
  14. Ask Imaam29 Jan 2014

    Why cant Muslims eat pork?

    i live in reading,uk. i have a friend which is not muslim and he ask me a question that why muslims don't eat pork?Please can you answer in detail…

    Immad Bin Arshad
  15. Mufti Online16 Jan 2014

    Gelatine

    What is the meaning of istihalah when something najis becomes pure? Like gelatin from pork?

    Mufti Ebrahim Salejee
  16. Mufti Online16 Jan 2014

    Fat from pigs

    Is fat from pigs najas if it is already chemically converted to glycerin or stearic acid?

    Mufti Zakaria Makada
  17. Mufti Online16 Jan 2014

    Istihalah

    Does Istihalah make najas things pure? Especially, when fat from pig is altered chemically and used in beauty creams?

    Mufti Zakaria Makada
  18. Mufti Online15 Jan 2014

    Hedgehogs

    My question is that "Is hedgehogs halaal or not?" Please tell me with detail reference Jazaak Allah.

    Mufti Zakaria Makada
  19. Mufti Online13 Jan 2014

    Eating and drinking Haraam

    Is there a hadith which says a person who eats or drinks haram, his dua and salah is not accepted for 40 days? After eating haram, if the person…

    Mufti Ebrahim Salejee
  20. Mufti Online13 Jan 2014

    Substance derived from a pig

    If a compound is taken from pig and then changed into new a different material through chemical reaction, is that halaal to eat?

    Mufti Ebrahim Salejee
  21. Mufti Online6 Jan 2014

    Vanilla extract

    To clarify if a product has vanilla extract/flavouring is it necessary to find out (before eating) if the vanilla extract is from dates or grapes?…

    Mufti Ebrahim Salejee
  22. Mufti Online31 Dec 2013

    Blood clot in an egg

    Does the clot found in an egg have to be removed before consuming it?

    Mufti Zakaria Motala
  23. Mufti Online23 Dec 2013

    Vanilla extract

    I wanted to ask some chocolates contain vanilla extract and vanilla extract has to be preserved with alcohol so if a chocolate bar has vanilla…

    Mufti Zakaria Makada
  24. Mufti Online14 Nov 2013

    Soft drinks

    What is the ruling of soft drinks? The majlis states haraam and they quote fiqh kitaabs. Sanha states halaal and they quote fiqh kitaabs. What is…

    Mufti Ebrahim Salejee
  25. Mufti Online11 Nov 2013

    Rainbow chicken

    Dear Muftisaab, is rainbow chicken haraam?

    Mufti Zakaria Makada
  26. Mufti Online29 Oct 2013

    Consuming cloned human cells

    Is it permissible for one to consume cloned human cells?

    Mufti Zakaria Makada
  27. Mufti Online29 Oct 2013

    Consuming goat's testicles

    Why is the eating of goat's testicles haraam?

    Mufti Zakaria Makada
  28. Mufti Online1 Oct 2013

    Eating human flesh

    What is the ruling on eating human flesh (own flesh or a dead persons flesh) if your life depended on it?

    Mufti Zakaria Makada
  29. Mufti Online30 Sep 2013

    Food which people of other religions have done prayers upon

    I live in India. There are lots of religions around us. If they give us any food items with love which will is from their prayer place, should we…

    Mufti Zakaria Makada
  30. Ask Imaam29 Aug 2013

    I work for a meat processing company which processes pork. Is my income Halal?

    I am working in a meat company they process pig meat (pork). Please let me know in detail that my income will be halal or not according to Islamic…

    Mufti Ismail Desai
  31. Mufti Online27 Aug 2013

    Is soya sauce Halaal?

    Is soya sauce allowed in Islam? I heard it contains 2% alcohol.

  32. Mufti Online14 Jun 2013

    Consuming haraam food

    If we eat haraam food such as non-halaal chicken, will we be unclean or napaak for 40 days? Our prayers, fasting or dua will not be accepted for 40…

    Mufti Zakaria Makada
  33. Mufti Online15 May 2013

    Eating doubtful foods

    What is ruling of eating food items in which we have some doubt whether it contains halaal ingredients or not like Maggi noodles, etc?

    Mufti Zakaria Makada
  34. Mufti Online23 Apr 2013

    Imported food products that have been declared Halaal in their country of origin

    Can one consume imported food products that have been declared Halaal in their country of origin - by the Ulama of that respective country? Many…

    Mufti Zakaria Makada
  35. Mufti Online25 Mar 2013

    Shellac and calf rennet

    Please could you enlighten me regarding the ruling for the following food ingredients: Shellac Calf Rennet (derived from non-Halaal slaughtered…

    Mufti Zakaria Makada
  36. Mufti Online17 Mar 2013

    Drinks which contain ethanol

    Are drinks which contain ethanol halaal?

    Mufti Zakaria Makada
  37. Ask Imaam13 Feb 2013

    What to do with Haraam food items?

    AsalaamuAlaikum, If I buy any kind of food, and realize it is haraam right after I buy it, will it be better to throw away that food or give it to a…

    Ismail Desai
  38. Mufti Online23 Dec 2012

    Carotene in cheese from Holland

    There is a kind of cheese coming from Holland (covered with something red or orange color) containing the ingredient "carotene". Is it halal?

    Mufti Ebrahim Salejee
  39. Mufti Online31 Oct 2012

    Eating prawns, horse meat and peacock

    Please inform me what is the ruling with regards to eating prawns, horse meat and peacock?

    Mufti Zakaria Makada
  40. Mufti Online11 Oct 2012

    Chicken / meat products served in the hotels / restaurants of Makkah and Madinah

    Is the chicken / meat products served in the hotels / restaurants of Makkah and Madinah permissible for consumption?

    Mufti Ebrahim Salejee

Read-only index of fatawa already published by South African Darul Iftas, each linked to its original. Not a fatwa service — for your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta.