Nestle chocolates..contains ethyl alcohol.is it haram?

· 26 Dhuʻl-Qiʻdah 1424 AH1 min readFatwa 10691English
Food and Drink

Question

I had called up the nestle chocolate costumer survice to ask whether their chocolates smarties& others contain any animal ingredients or alcohol.they said that in artifcial flavours there is corn based ethyl alcohol but its evoparated ....All nestle chocolates contains the same..can we have these chocolates.Also what about vanilla.I have heard that it too contains ethyl alcohol.can we add vanilla essence while preparing cookies.can we have vanilla ice cream?

Answer

If chocolates and vanilla essence contain corn based ethyl alcohol, then it is Halaal.

and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best

Mufti Ebrahim Desai

Answered by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Ask AskImam

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam). It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.