Food, Halal & Slaughter · Subtopic
Halal Certification & Products
353 fatawa from 5 South African Darul Iftas on Halal Certification & Products, part of Food, Halal & Slaughter. Newest first; every fatwa links to the page where its Darul Ifta published it.
Subtopics are grouped from each Darul Ifta’s own categories and the fatwa titles, so the count is approximate.
By Darul Ifta
Halal Certification & Products fatawa — page 7 of 9
- Mufti Online31 May 2014
Consuming dates from Iran
We are urged not to support the beliefs and the ways of the Shi'ites for several reasons. Many of the dates for consumption in South Africa are…
Mufti Zakaria Makada - Ask Imaam21 May 2014
Are Tim Hortons products halāl to consume even though they have traces of ethyl alcohol?
In Canada we have Tim Hortons as the signature coffee shop in which every muslim goes to. I just found out this shop has traces of Ethyl Alchol in…
Bilal Mohammad - Ask Imaam14 May 2014
1)Are medicines that contain alcohol Halaal. 2) Are products that contain vanilla extract Halaal?
Based on this Fatwa#: 28883 if alcohol used in mediciane and not intoxic are ok? Second if we consider this "in order for a vanilla extract to be…
Nabeel Valli - Mufti Online15 Apr 2014
Consuming Halaal
I am working away from home and staying in camp accommodation. I asked and confirmed from the manager of the mess about the meat. He said everything…
Mufti Ebrahim Salejee - Mufti Online14 Apr 2014Arabic
Cordyceps sinensis
هل يجوز للمسلم أن يشرب (أو يأكل) هذا الشيء لزيادة القوة و الصحة؟ في الدول الشافعية (ماليزيا، إندونيسيا) - المكملات الغذائية بهذا الشيء - عندهم…
Mufti Zakaria Makada - Mufti Online24 Mar 2014
Giving doubtful food to another Muslim
Can a pious muslim give off mashbooh foodstuffs to an another muslim who is not steadfast in deen and consumes all sort of foods whether it is…
Mufti Zakaria Makada - Mufti Online15 Mar 2014
Giving doubtful food to non-Muslims
Can a muslim give off doubtful foodstuffs like chocolates, biscuits, etc to a non muslim because throwing off mashbooh foodstuffs is a little…
Mufti Zakaria Makada - Mufti Online13 Mar 2014Arabic
Royal Jelly
Royal Jelly, Bee Propolis, Bee Pollen. السلام عليكم. لا أدري كيف الترجمة الصحيحة لهذه الأشياء...و سؤالي: هل يجوز للمسلم أن يشرب (أو يأكل) هذه…
Mufti Zakaria Makada - Mufti Online19 Feb 2014
E-codes
Many companies are said to be mixing haram items in their products and many codes like E codes are said to be haram. What should be done with these…
Mufti Ebrahim Salejee - Ask Imaam11 Feb 2014
Doubtful foods
In regards to mushbooh food items, if we have bought them, what should be done? Should we throw them away or use them once or give them to someone…
Muhammad Haris Siddiqui - Ask Imaam24 Jan 2014
Outlawed Halal Food
Someone I know regularly purchases and consumes a food product that is halal for consumption in principle, but it is illegal to obtain where he…
Khalil Johnson - Mufti Online16 Jan 2014
Gelatine
What is the meaning of istihalah when something najis becomes pure? Like gelatin from pork?
Mufti Ebrahim Salejee - Mufti Online6 Jan 2014
Vanilla extract
To clarify if a product has vanilla extract/flavouring is it necessary to find out (before eating) if the vanilla extract is from dates or grapes?…
Mufti Ebrahim Salejee - Mufti Online31 Dec 2013
Blood clot in an egg
Does the clot found in an egg have to be removed before consuming it?
Mufti Zakaria Motala - Mufti Online23 Dec 2013
Vanilla extract
I wanted to ask some chocolates contain vanilla extract and vanilla extract has to be preserved with alcohol so if a chocolate bar has vanilla…
Mufti Zakaria Makada - Mufti Online10 Dec 2013
Darjeeling tea
Is it permissible to drink Darjeeling tea looking at it's history that the person who first planted it in India had stolen the seeds from China and…
Mufti Zakaria Makada - Mufti Online5 Dec 2013
Horse meat
Is Horse meat halaal, haram ro makruh?
Mufti Ebrahim Salejee - Mufti Online23 Nov 2013
Sea creatures
Allah Says in The Qur'an that all creatures of the sea are lawful. But, there is a general belief among Indian Muslims that we Muslims cannot eat…
Mufti Ebrahim Salejee - Mufti Online14 Nov 2013
Soft drinks
What is the ruling of soft drinks? The majlis states haraam and they quote fiqh kitaabs. Sanha states halaal and they quote fiqh kitaabs. What is…
Mufti Ebrahim Salejee - Mufti Online11 Nov 2013
Rainbow chicken
Dear Muftisaab, is rainbow chicken haraam?
Mufti Zakaria Makada - Ask Imaam7 Nov 2013
Is it permissible to buy Jewish products?
I need to know if it is permissible in islam to consume products that are manufactured by jews, the range of these products are varied like baby…
Zameelur Rahman - Mufti Online7 Nov 2013
Drinking camel milk
Is Camel Milk permissible to drink? I have doubts that I might become intoxicated for some reason but I am not sure it just came up in my mind.…
Mufti Zakaria Makada - Mufti Online3 Nov 2013
Fermented rosemary
Is fermented rosemary(a herb) haram? Also are all fermented herbs haram?
Mufti Ebrahim Salejee - Mufti Online27 Oct 2013
Consuming duck meat
Can we eat duck meat? Somebody toold me that its haraam.
Mufti Ebrahim Salejee - Mufti Online27 Oct 2013
Broiler chicken
Broiler chicken is halal or not?
Mufti Zakaria Makada - Mufti Online14 Sep 2013
Bottle of chutney from a Halaal butchery
I purchased a bottle of chutney from a butchery which is halaal certified for its meat products. However the chutney I bought does not have a halaal…
Mufti Ebrahim Salejee - Ask Imaam12 Sep 2013
Is it permissible consume gelatine capsules?
I would just like to know the ruling regarding the use of gelatin capsules. I am currently interested in purchasing a supplement, that consumes of…
Ismail Dawoodjee - Mufti Online11 Sep 2013
Honey
I wanted to ask which honey is sunnah to eat? Buckwheat honey, manuka honey, acacia honey? These are all honey obtained from a special tree the…
Mufti Zakaria Makada - Mufti Online31 Aug 2013
Eating products originating from companies associated with Senomyx
Could I please be informed as to the fatwah of eating products originating from companies associated with Senomyx (a bio tech company which uses…
Mufti Zakaria Makada - Ask Imaam7 Jul 2013
Is Beef gelatine halal?
Is BEEF gelatine halal?
Ismail Desai - Mufti Online15 May 2013
Eating doubtful foods
What is ruling of eating food items in which we have some doubt whether it contains halaal ingredients or not like Maggi noodles, etc?
Mufti Zakaria Makada - Ask Imaam11 May 2013
Income from running a pizza franchise which uses haram ingredients permissible or not?
I am running a franchise pizza business in Canada; and sometime we use pork food items in making pizza. I am wondering if this business is Halal or…
Faisal bin Abdul Hameed al-Mahmudi - Ask Imaam8 May 2013
Is it permissible to consume food products which have animal derivatives but these are processed and what about foods labeled 100% vegetarian which contain some animal derivatives?
I have a question about intaking the foods of some companies where imulsifier of animal base is present though they are saying it 100% vegetarian…
Mufti Faisal bin Abdul Hameed al-Mahmudi - Mufti Online23 Apr 2013
Imported food products that have been declared Halaal in their country of origin
Can one consume imported food products that have been declared Halaal in their country of origin - by the Ulama of that respective country? Many…
Mufti Zakaria Makada - Ask Imaam31 Mar 2013
Is benzyl benzoate Ḥalāl and should hair products be checked for what they contain?
Is benzyl benzoate a haraam substance ?also should hair products like heat protectors and hair sprays be checked for what they contain the way…
Mahmood Patel - Mufti Online25 Mar 2013
Shellac and calf rennet
Please could you enlighten me regarding the ruling for the following food ingredients: Shellac Calf Rennet (derived from non-Halaal slaughtered…
Mufti Zakaria Makada - Ask Imaam2 Feb 2013
Is whey protein concentrate Ḥalāl?
Is whey protein concentrate Ḥalāl?
Mahmood Patel - Mufti Online1 Jan 2013
Broiler Chicken
Through reliable sources I have come to know that broiler chicken is a cross breed of pig and hen. There are certain similarities in both of these…
Mufti Zakaria Makada - Mufti Online23 Dec 2012
Carotene in cheese from Holland
There is a kind of cheese coming from Holland (covered with something red or orange color) containing the ingredient "carotene". Is it halal?
Mufti Ebrahim Salejee - Mufti Online12 Nov 2012
Vanilla Essence containing ethanol
I have purchased vanilla essence (Robertsons and Moirs). These products contain ethanol, however they are certified halaal. Please advise on whether…
Mufti Zakaria Makada
Read-only index of fatawa already published by South African Darul Iftas, each linked to its original. Not a fatwa service — for your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta.