Pharmacy selling medication which contains haram gelatin or alcohol
Question
Is it permissible for a pharmacy to sell the following products:
1. Items containing gelatin from animals that were not slaughtered according to Shari’ah?
2. Items containing alcohol which have a non-alcoholic equivalent.
3. Also, will the money earned from such sales be haraam?
Answer
If there are no halaal alternatives, then it is permissible.
And Allah Ta'ala (الله تعالى) knows best.
References (Arabic / Urdu sources)
وأكل الترياق يكره إذا كان فيه شيء من الحيات وإن باع ذلك جاز (الفتاوى الهندية 1/ 355)
امداد الاحكام 4/ 320
- Answered by
- Mufti Ebrahim Salejee (Isipingo Beach)
Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Mufti Online — Madrasah Ta'leemuddeen. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.